6 Months into Motherhood (again)

Bambi is 6 months old today! We made it! Happy half a birthday sweetie!🎈 – a real excuse for me to whip up a cake in a mug with half a candle left from the toddler “tasting” the other half (because we do that now)..

I can’t believe it. No really, I actually can’t. I’m surprised we made it 6 months without me really paying that much attention.. probably from loosing brain cells from the repeated toddler shoe wars and never having memory on my phone to document her developing facial reactions to the shoe wars (because obviously it’s full of Bubba’s half selfies/toes/the ceiling/screenshots of goats).

These past 6 months introducing Bambi to life in Dubai with her older brother has been a tough one. I feel like I’m limited here in terms of outdoor fun, friends and family visitation and all the gifts/desserts that come with them. Trying to live in the moment with her doesn’t always work out as the toddler is always finding ways to hog the limelight.. like dumping the entire Dettol floor cleaner and doing liquid angels so mummy has to ABSOLUTELY STOP BREASTFEEDING AND SAVE HIS CORROSIVE ASS. A lot of the time he just wants to play with her already. Especially now that she has learnt to roll over to her tummy and pivot on the spot, he’s been trying to force her like a fidgit spinner! πŸ˜‚

Have patience kid. Time will fly as it is flying by now.. 😒

Outfit: Ralph Lauren

The outgrown baby clothes are stuffed away in plastic bags at the back of the wardrobe (I’ll sort it out later at some point), the carry cot is finally at the end of it’s usefulness and gone are the days I can plan to take a piss when she naps, because now she really wants to be in the know about every single thing that’s happening.. So that’s about 25 minutes of total nap time during the day. #knackered

I’m gutted I didn’t document her more or at least write things down like her first smile or the first time she sucked her toes, but I know the moments made me laugh in the midsts of having my hands full, unsticking dry pasta from the kitten. (Toddler activity that went from 100-0 real quick. Started with sticking pasta on a plastic plate, then cardboard, then mummy’s hair, his own top and then the poor sodding kitten who came to take a peep.)..

It did keep him busy for 45 minutes! Defo try it mamas.. but keep the cat away.

We have started weaning onto solids now, thank F. Although I don’t miss breastfeeding 65 times a day, it’s still a tad upsetting when your melons are 2nd best to a bowl of Cerelac. I’ve pledged to not over think the homemade baby food nonsense this time round, besides I’ve mainly been mashing a banana with a fork for now. The Philips Avent Combined Steamer and Blender comes in handy to steam and blend without extra pots and pans to wash and dry. (Bought it 2 years ago and still does a badass job! Best purchase ever). Oh and baby led weaning is BANNED for all foreseeable future (see why). Giving whole raw carrots and cucumbers to gnaw at, doesn’t count.

It’s been a great and tiring 6 months, I’ve gained the weight of a buffalo, my pelvic floor hasn’t quite recovered, my hair is falling in bucket loads, the days of the week are all a blur and to top it off, I’ve forgotten the pin to my card when I try ordering pizza. Absolutely tragic.

Now as she grows, it will be the last of the first everything.. first time sitting, first words, first crawls.. *sobs* .. Soon she will also be snorting along to Peppa Pig and regurgitating steamed broccoli on all four walls.

For now I shall delete the useless pictures from my gallery and try to catch moments with her before they disappear and I’m sobbing into yet another cake.

***

Key milestones: Rolling over, trying to sit with arms to support and prefers saying ‘yeah-yeah’, rather than ‘ma ma’ or ‘da da’

Likes: Empty water bottles, mummy’s hair and the TV remote

Dislikes: Butternut Squash and being a fidgit spinner

***

#fatlife #yeahyeah

12 Comments Add yours

  1. carmensar says:

    I like your writing! So funny and true! I feel like I’m right there with you!

    Like

    1. mamabasic says:

      Thank you! Appreciate the love x

      Like

  2. Amanda says:

    Love this SO much! Thank you for bringing humor to this. It’s SO tough when you have a baby, and a toddler! You are doing a great job mama!

    Like

    1. mamabasic says:

      Thank you mama! It’s tough but rewarding .. having a read of your blog! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Jordan says:

    Funny post! Good luck with the broccoli spew!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mamabasic says:

      Thank you Jordan!

      Like

  4. Jiya B says:

    I loved reading it. Congratulations on completig 6 months. Keep giving us a laughter dose like this.

    Like

    1. mamabasic says:

      Thank you mama!

      Like

  5. je55iemullin5 says:

    So this is what I have to look forward to with a toddler and baby number two. Hahaha But seriously, thanks for the funny insight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mamabasic says:

      Haha it will all be worth it! (At the end of the day when both are asleep for an unknown period of time😁)

      Like

  6. Lana says:

    In two weeks my baby will be turning two. I cant believe that and I am kind of sad that she’s growing so fast. I am already planing her party and i a few years I will be planing her wedding party. Sad!
    http://www.marieavenue.com

    Like

    1. mamabasic says:

      Ahh noo.. my son is already 2 and I feel upset about it too! They grow so fast. Hows party planning going? And omg i an not thinking about their wedding.. no wayy haha.. thanks for stopping by mama! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

