A Letter to my Best Friend on her Wedding Day..

Shit.

I can’t believe this day has come.

Many talk about this day with their best friend since they were kids, always making wedding scrap books with delicate cut outs from the Princess magazines and always picturing the big fairy tale wedding dress that Cinderella wore. But we never did. Because F Disney. We make our own happiness, not some prince. We didn’t want someone to choose us.. hell no.. rather we wanted to choose, after all we were not looking to be “saved”. 

Because we had each other.

You are an extension of my soul; so similar in thought, humour and our no bullshit filter policy. We havn’t been fortunate with a drama free life, but you have always been there for me through every hurdle and every celebration, all the laughter and all the tears, and all the times I’d give you the food I can’t finish. You are an incredibly strong woman, even when the universe was out to get you, you were still sticking your middle finger up and always pointing out the wonderful side of life. You see the beauty in almost everything (expect PineapplesπŸ˜‘) . It’s probably why we always chose a sceanic location to unload all our worries to eachother. 

I want you to know you are such a beautiful human being, on the inside and the out! No matter where you are, you are able to light up a room. You make people laugh and smile everyday and your ability to make friends in 12 seconds flat, always scares me impresses me. Don’t get kidnapped. You are one of the most caring people I know.. Under all that sas, you have honestly impacted my life for the better and I can not will not imagine my life without you. After all, noone else can b*#@h about the best pizza flavour quite like us. (It’s Hawiian with extra pineapples incase you were wondering πŸ˜›).

Here’s the time she accidently waxed off half her eyebrow! We went to a house party, so she coloured it in with pencil eyeliner. Until it smudged on someones hand and everyone was mortified. Hahahaha..

For being who you are, you deserve every drop of happiness this world has to offer and I’m so pleased you have found the man that can add to it. I am so proud of how you have handled your shit and walk the Earth like a BAWSE! I was a sodding mess on my wedding day, but ofcourse, there you were, cracking jokes about my nostrils and making me laugh. Your banter can not be topped.

Although I’d hate to give up my spot, I hope he becomes your best friend. I hope he adores every part of you, bad breath an all. Someone who you can trust with your life, listens to you without judgement or interruption and, your favourite partner through the horror movie marathons we love so much. 

(Basically a male version of me – forget “Prince Charming”. He was useless anyway)

She can bake the most BANGING chocoloate fudge cake! This one was for my birthday, complete with the tray full of fudge sauce. #wifeymaterial

I hope this new chapter in your life closes the old ones so you can start fresh with everyone you love. I hope the joy today brings, shines through your entire married life. I hope it’s a life made with understanding, romance (not the sickly kind), passion, banter, trust, faith and lastly, a timeless love.

As for us, I will always be there for you. I’m gutted I live so far from you for now but distance never stopped us. 

Enjoy it. Whenever the time comes and you notice your uterus expanding, just know I will lend you my kids for practice and run. But I will be an epic aunty!  

Because we have each other.

All my love, 

Asiya

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Aww this is so lovely, it isn’t ofteb in life we are lucky enough to find such friendships. Hold on to each other

    Like

    1. mamabasic says:

      Thank you. I do feel lucky!

      Like

  2. amandaknipe says:

    Beautiful 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

