10 Things That Make Me Happy

I am lucky enough to be passed the happiness torch from The Wordy Mom’s 10 things that make me happy and after reading her list, there were so many things that actually make me happy from just reading and relating. I feel like we can find happiness from others happiness and that’s a beautiful thing.. so here are 10 things that make me happy, hoping to inspire you to take a moment out of your busy life and remember yours..

1. Peaceful Family Time

In our house, It’s always crazy and everyone is doing different things, which sucks! The husband works, has an office space in the garden when he works from home, and goes to gym everyday (bodybuilder pending). I’m usually tending to the kids and they never sleep. When one’s napping the other is demanding attention. When it’s Bubba’s bedtime (8.30pm-9pm) and Bambi’s bedtime (10pm-10.30pm), best believe I’m KO as soon as I get horizontal. So anytime sitting together for a few moments is pure bliss. (Without someone having a complete meltdown).

 This ducks family are goals. 

2. Skype

Living half the world away from family, Skype is so important to me! I’m always so happy when I see a family members face and catching up on the latest family soap story😂 (there’s always juicy news).. I love feeling included and remembered as I feel quite lonely most the time. And it’s free! (Until UAE block my Skype aswell).

3. Bargains

I luuuuurve a good bargain! ESP FREBIES! Some people are happy to wear expensive designer clothes, but I get extremely happy if I know it was inexpensive but gorgeous! It just satisfy s my soul and I’m not afraid to admit where I bought the item from and for how much. The reaction goes two ways; surprised that I got a great bargain or pity for being a cheapskate. Either way, I’m still happy AF and don’t care for negativity.

Mamabasic via Instagram

Picked these beautiful heels up for 10 AED!! That’s £2.08p. Bargain mate! 😍😍

4. Baking

I don’t think it’s the actual baking that makes me happy but the end product. Usually something chocolatey. Usually muffins. Yummmmmmm! I just shove all ingredients into a bowl and mix, and YES you’re supposed to “sieve” things, “fold it in” and build a “well”, but I ain’t got patience for that. But the smell that fills the house and the feeling of taking out a tray if beautiful muffins (apart from the one time I forgot and they disintegrated into ashes), makes me happy! Mainly in excitement to scarf the lot..

I get Bubba to do the dirty work haha..
5. Books

Back in the UK I had about 2 thousand books in my personal library. So that just shows how much I love books! Now in the UAE, I bought my favourite ones with me (boxed and stored the rest), which I read over and over and I have a Kindle, where I can download new books. I love escaping to another world created by an author. I love feeling different emotions when going on a journey with a character! And I love how twists in plots shock me to be in awe of the authors genius mind!

6. A Chicken Burger

Chicken burgers make me happy okay, don’t judge me😂 .. the crispy fresh taste of lettuce, tomatoes and cucumbers, the soft and delicious flavoured chicken (breaded or grilled, I’m not choosey), the burst of flavour from Ketchup or Mayonnaise and the fluffy sesame seeded burger bun. I like adding cheese, extra salad, pineapple, a row of chips/fries and a sunny side up egg. Uhhhh yaaaas😍 .. I know it’s slobbery and I’m a fat shit, but it tastes SO good!

Maaaaaate😍

7. Compliments

I’m sure compliments make everyone happy and I’m the same. Having a rubbish self-esteem and no confidence in my self, body, clothing choices, make up skills, hair styling skills..etc. a compliment goes a long way! It feels good to be reassured the lipstick colour I chose when feeling a moment of boldness, doesn’t make me look less of a human.

Snapchat filters make me look better. Feel free to drop a compliment 😉😂

8. The Kids’ Laugher and Hugs

The sound of the kids having a giggle or scream-laughing is happiness made into a sound. And the big squeeze hugs from the toddler, are happiness made into an action. He hugs with all his strength, and in these moments I know he didn’t mean to bite a chuck of my leg off. That I am his everything, his first love from the womb days and will be as long as I shall keep reminding him live.

9. The Massage Chair

My amazing husband surprised me with a massage chair a while ago and I LOVE it. I have had a massage twice in my life, once in Turkey called a Turkish bath, where the lady filled my ears with soap and another time a while after giving birth to Bambi, and she pressed down so hard from trying to take out ‘bubbles’ that I was bruised. Now I avoid human hands and rely on the machinery that will one day take over the planet (Skynet).  So when I get the chance, I take 20 mins out to sit, put headphones in and feel my butt cheeks vibrate😂

Bought from Dragon Mart, Dubai UAE. Isn’t my hubs the best! ❤

10. Dettol Body wash

Just as I was typing this post and thinking what number 10 would be, Bambi (who was sitting on my lap playing with a teether), legit shat through her clothes and onto my clothes. After stripping both of us and getting her bath ready, when I lifted her up to place her in her bath (the bathroom sink), she shat and pissed all down my legs. Typical. Her entire quarter of a banana meal I started weaning her on yesterday, is all over me. After sorting her out and thankfully she went to sleep straight after, I took a lovely hot shower with the highlight being the Dettol Body wash! With Dettol, I feel clean and germ free. It puts my mind at rest knowing I am clean AF and 99.9% of toxic banana atoms are dead. I try not to worry about the 0.01% failed to be mentioned but it makes me truly happy walking out the shower knowing the Dettol has done it’s job and I will not be catching rabies. Thank you Dettol!

Many thanks to The Wordy Mom for allowing me to take a minute to remember what makes me happy in my day to day life. We all need a little reminding sometimes! To keep the spirit going, why not comment below some things that make you happy and share it with us all? If you’d like to create a blog post of your 10 things, be sure to give me a shout so I can read it too..

ox

13 Comments Add yours

  1. This list is great! I am a firm believer that gratitude is the key to happiness. PS I really want a chicken burger now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mamabasic says:

      Totally agree with you! And chicken burgers are just the best! Treat yourself I say😁

      Like

  2. Bargains make my life complete! Especially when its thrift store bargains

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mamabasic says:

      Agreed! Such a good feeling when you pick up something for a great price!

      Like

  3. realfoodiefamily says:

    Baking is such a great stress release and it makes me happy too! Thanks for the fun list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mamabasic says:

      Sometimes it stresses me if it diesnt come out like the picture in the recipe book haha

      Like

  4. Torry says:

    I can definitely appreciate #2! My husband is millitary so we use Skype often do he can chat with our daughter!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mamabasic says:

      Aww that must be tough.. thank god for skype! Xx

      Like

  5. happymomblogger says:

    I love this list! Food, shopping, and my kid’s hugs, and compliments make me happy too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mamabasic says:

      Totally agree!

      Like

  6. Ipuna Black says:

    What a great list! You have a mixture of everything. Reading is my favorite on the beach when it’s not hot! ❤️​

    Like

    1. mamabasic says:

      Sounds lovely! I prefer reading before bed or long journeys 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ipuna Black says:

        Before bed is great!

        Like

Leave a Reply

